

Report on the 67th IIPF Congress, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

The 67th Annual IIPF Congress was hosted by the Office of Tax Policy Research at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, University of Michigan between August 8 - 11, 2011, and was attended by more than 360 delegates from around the world.

The theme of the plenary sessions was *Rethinking the Role of the State: Responses to Recent Challenges.* Plenary speakers were Rick van der Ploeg ("A Macro Perspective on Public Finance: Natural Resources and the Environment"), Hans-Werner Sinn ("Praying for the European Monetary Union: Flaws, Risks, and Policy Options"), Emmanuel Saez ("Efficient Policies for Redistribution"), James Poterba ("Population Aging and the Evolving Role of the State") and David Wildasin ("Economic Integration and Fiscal Policy in a Dynamic Context: Competition and Factor Mobility").

The main body of the Congress consisted of 258 contributed papers (out of 401 submissions), accompanied by the corresponding number of formal discussions, covering together virtually all topics within public economics, but with *Rethinking the Role of the State: Responses to Recent Challenges* as a focal area. To accommodate the large number of papers delivered, 10 to 12 parallel sessions were necessary. In total, 76 sessions were organized. The papers are available on the conference-maker site of the 67th IIPF Congress (http://editorialexpress.com/conference/IIPF67/program/IIPF67.html). As usual, a selection of contributed papers and plenary presentations will appear in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance* in 2012.

The Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize for the best paper contributed by authors under the age of 40 was awarded to David R. Agrawal (University of Michigan, USA) for his paper "The Tax Gradient: Do Local Sales Taxes Reduce Tax Differentials at State Borders?" The IIPF Young Economists Award 2011 went to Raphael Parchet (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) and Beatrix Brügger (University of Lausanne, Switzerland) for their paper "Culture and Taxes: Towards Identifying Tax Competition;" Craig Garthwaite (Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, USA) for his paper "The Doctor Might See You Now: The Supply-Side Effects of Public Health Insurance Expansions;" and Aart Gerritsen (Erasmus University Rotterdam and Tinbergen Institute, Netherlands) for his paper "Equity and Efficiency in Rationed Labor Markets." The Award Committee consisted of Ruud de Mooij (Scientific Coordinator and member of the IIPF Board of Management), Jenny Ligthart (member of the IIPF Board of Management) and Michael Keen (Honorary President of IIPF), assisted by other members of the Scientific Committee.

On Monday evening, the Welcome Reception was held at the Ross School's Executive Residence Courtyard. The traditional Tuesday afternoon excursion offered the choice of three options, The Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village, or the River Rouge Factory Tour, followed by a strolling dinner at the Detroit Institute of Arts. On Wednesday evening the Conference Dinner was held in the Ross School's Davidson Winter Garden and featured dancing to the music provided by the great Motown Band -- Larry Lee and Back in the Day. The food, music, and socialization contributed to turning these events into an excellent opportunity to meet colleagues and chat in an informal atmosphere, and to strengthen relations between IIPF members.

The local organizing committee was chaired by Joel Slemrod (University of Michigan). The Scientific Committee was chaired by Ruud de Mooij (International Monetary Fund). Its members included Massimo Bordignon (University of Milan), Monika Bütler (University of St. Gallen), Thiess Büttner (University of Erlangen-Nuremberg), Koen Caminada (Leiden University), Julie Cullen (University of California, San Diego), Michael Devereux (University of Oxford), Bas Jacobs (Erasmus University, Rotterdam), Henrik Kleven (London School of Economics), Marko Koethenbuerger (University of Copenhagen), Wojciech Kopczuk (Columbia University), Jenny Ligthart (Tilburg University), Therese McGuire (Northwestern University), Gaëtan Nicodème (European Commission), Kerstin Schneider (University), Christian Traxler (Max Planck Institute, Bonn), Bas ter Weel (CPB, The Netherlands), Alfons Weichenrieder (University of Frankfurt), Roberton Williams (University of Maryland), John Wilson (Michigan State University), and George Zodrow (Rice University).

We would like to thank the many sponsors of the Congress, who joined with the Office of Tax Policy Research at the University of Michigan: The Lynde and Harry Bradley Foundation, Deutsche Bank, Georgia State University (Andrew Young School of Policy Studies), the International Institute at the University of Michigan, the International Policy Center at the University of Michigan, Lincoln Institute of Land Policy, PricewaterhouseCoopers, Syracuse University (Maxwell School), Tax Policy Center (Urban Institute and Brookings Institution), Tulane University (Murphy Institute), University of California, Berkeley (Robert D. Burch Center for Tax Policy and Public Finance), University of Tennessee (Center for Business & Economic Research), and the William Davidson Institute at the University of Michigan. We would also like to thank two contributors: Ernst & Young, and Thomas Neubig. Finally, we would like to express our deep appreciation to the faculty and staff at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan, who were instrumental to the success of the 67th IIPF Congress.

October 2011

Joel Slemrod