

# REDESIGNING THE WELFARE STATE FOR AGING SOCIETIES

Call for Papers



Università della Svizzera italiana Faculty of

Institute of Economics IdEP



THE 70TH
ANNUAL CONGRESS
OF THE
INTERNATIONAL
INSTITUTE OF PUBLIC
FINANCE (IIPF)

will be held in Lugano, Switzerland, on August 20-23 2014.

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers.

Deadline for submissions is February 15, 2014.

Papers should be submitted through www.conftool.pro/iipf2014

The theme of the 2014 Congress is Redesigning the Welfare State for Aging Societies. Societal structures such as income and wealth distribution, consumptive behavior, gender roles, and social cohesion change in aging societies. In addition to these effects of aging, other important topics to be discussed at the IIPF Congress 2014 will be sustainability and the design of pension systems, as well as the regulation of private pension plans. Moreover, health care reforms and the effects of policy on people's quality of life in aging societies will be addressed.

Keynote speeches will be given by:

**Axel Börsch-Supan** (Professor and Director of the Munich Center for the Economics of Aging (MEA), DE)

Maria Cristina de Nardi (Professor at UCL, GB)

**Brigitte Madrian** (Professor at Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, US)

James Smith (Distinguished Chair in Labor Markets and Demographic Studies, Rand Corporation, US)

Furthermore, the congress features **policy panels** on the challenges facing aging societies, including high-ranking policy makers and academics.

While the theme of the Congress is *Redesigning the Welfare State for Aging Societies*, contributed papers on any topic within the field of public economics will be considered, as is traditional at IIPF congresses.

The papers to be presented will be selected by the Scientific Committee. The submission of a paper is considered as a commitment to attend the Congress, subject to the condition that the paper is accepted. The papers submitted should include an abstract, JEL codes and keywords. Only full papers / pdf files will be considered. Acceptance decisions will be communicated by May 01, 2014. The authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering before May 31, 2014 (early registration date). Payment of the annual membership fee ensures a reduced registration rate. Non-members must pay a submission fee of € 20 that will be credited against their membership when joining the IIPF.

Membership includes a subscription to the *Journal of International Tax and Public Finance* (see also www.iipf.org), in a special issue of which selected congress papers will be published. To be considered for publication, papers must be submitted formally to the journal by September 15, 2014.

Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award (under 40 years of age) or the GIZ Public Policy Award should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation at the Congress.

GIZ provides a limited number of travel grants for participants from African / developing countries. Details can be found on the Congress website.

For more information, visit www.iipf2014.ch

## CHAIRS OF SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE:

**Monika Bütler** (University of St. Gallen, CH), **Kerstin Schneider** (University of Wuppertal, DE)

### SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEM-BERS:

David Agrawal (University of Georgia, US), Koen Caminada (Leiden University, NL), Robert Chirinko (University of Illinois at Chicago, US), Katherine Cuff (McMaster University, CA), Matz Dahlberg (Uppsala University, SE), Ruud de Mooij (International Monetary Fund, US), Nadja **Dwenger** (Max Planck Institute for Tax Law and Public Finance, DE), Hans Fehr (University of Würzburg, DE), T.Scott Findley (Utah State University, US), Timothy J. Goodspeed (Hunter College and Graduate Center -CUNY, US), **Bas Jacobs** (Erasmus University Rotterdam, NL), Vesa Kanniainen (University of Helsinki, FI), Benjamin Lockwood (University of Warwick, GB), Gaetan Nicodème (Université Libre de Bruxelles and European Commission, BE), A. Abigail Payne (McMaster University, CA), Jukka Pirttilä (University of Tampere, FI), Panu Poutvaara (University of Munich and Ifo Institute, DE), Paola Profeta (Bocconi University, IT), **Thomas** Renström (Durham University Business School, GB), Wolfram F. Richter (TU Dortmund University, DE), Motohiro Sato (Hitotsubashi University, JP), Robert Schwager (Georg-August-University Goettingen, DE), Guttorm Schjelderup (Norwegian School of Economics, NO), Jan-Egbert Sturm (KOF Swiss Economic Institute, ETH Zurich, CH), **Silke Uebelmesser** (Friedrich Schiller University Jena, DE), David Wildasin (University of Kentucky, US), Barbara Wolfe (University of Wisconsin-Madison, US), Matthias Wrede (Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, DE)

# CHAIR OF LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE:

**Mario Jametti** (Università della Svizzera italiana, CH)

# LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE MEMBERS:

Monika Bütler (University of St. Gallen, CH), Massimo Filippini (Università della Svizzera italiana, CH), Vincenzo Galasso (Università della Svizzera italiana, CH), Paola Profeta (Bocconi University, IT)