

73rd Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance

Fiscal Reform

August 18 – 20, 2017 Tokyo, Japan

Call for Papers







The 73rd Annual Congress of the International Institute of Public Finance will be held in Tokyo, Japan on August 18-20, 2017

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers.

Submission starts on November 1, 2016.

Deadline for submission is February 15, 2017.

Papers should be submitted through www.conftool.pro/iipf2017.

The theme of the 2017 congress is Fiscal Reform. Growing demographic pressures and increased inequality in developed economics challenge governments' ability to maintain the existing structure of spending. Developing countries need to adjust their tax and spending to meet demands of their growing economies. Recessions put strain on government revenue and lead to higher spending on stimulus and the social safety net. Tax systems need to adjust to the new digital economy that challenges but also creates opportunities for tax administrators. Globalization requires cooperation between governments to address tax competition, avoidance and evasion. These issues and more will be topics of plenary discussion.

Keynote speeches will be given by:

Alan Auerbach

(Professor of Economics and Law, University of California, Berkeley, US)

David Bradbury

(Head of the Tax Policy and Statistics Division, OECD, France)

Takatoshi Ito

(Professor of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University, US)

Hans-Werner Sinn

(Professor of Economics and Public Finance, University of Munich, Germany)

Call for Papers

Prospective contributors, both practitioners and academics, are invited to submit papers.

While the congress theme is "Fiscal Reform," as is traditional at IIPF congresses, papers on any topic within the field of public economics will be considered

Papers should be submitted through www.conftool.pro/iipf2017. Deadline for submissions is February 15, 2017.

The papers to be presented at the IIPF Congress will be selected by the Scientific Committee. Submitted papers should include an abstract, JEL codes and keywords. Only completed papers in PDF format will be considered. There are no submission fees for IIPF members.

Non-members must pay a submission fee of €20.

Acceptance decisions will be communicated by early April 2017. Authors of accepted papers are required to become members of the IIPF and to confirm their presentation by registering before June 1, 2017. Payment of the annual IIPF membership fee also ensures a reduced registration rate. For more information about IIPF membership, visit www.iipf.org/mbshp. Selected papers from the 2017 IIPF Congress will be published in a special issue of *International Tax and Public Finance*. To be considered for publication in this issue, papers must be submitted to the journal by September 18, 2017. Authors who wish to be considered for the IIPF Young Economists Award, the IIPF Peggy and Richard Musgrave Prize (both for authors under 40 years), or the *International Tax and Public Finance* PhD Student Prize should indicate this when submitting papers for presentation. More information on the awards is available at www.iipf.org/awards.

For more information on the congress, visit www.iipf2017.jp

CHAIRS OF SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE

Wojciech Kopczuk (Columbia University, US), Andreas Peichl (ZEW, University of Mannheim, Germany)

SCIENTIFIC COMMITTEE MEMBERS

David Agrawal (University of Kentucky, US), Miguel Almunia (University of Warwick, UK), Annette Alstadsæter (Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway), Hangming Fang (University of Pennsylvania, US), François Gerard (Columbia University, US), Joshua Gottlieb (The University of British Columbia, Canada), Makoto Hasegawa (The National Graduate Institute for Policy Studies, Japan), Tuomas Kosonen (Labour Institute for Economic Research, Finland), Etienne Lehmann (CRED University Paris II, France), Wei Li (Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business, China), Shuanglin Lin (Peking University, China), Li Liu (International Monetary Fund, US), Yukihiro Nishimura (Osaka University, Japan), Hikaru Ogawa (University of Tokyo, Japan), Abigail Payne (Melbourne Institute, U of Melbourne and McMaster University, Australia and Canada), Maria Racionero (The Australian National University, Australia), Nadine Riedel (Ruhr University, Germany), Joanne Roberts (Yale-NUS College, Singapore), Florian Scheuer (Stanford University, US), Nathan Seegert (University of Utah, US), Sebastian Siegloch (University of Mannheim, Germany), Johannes Spinnewijn (The London School of Economics and Political Science, UK), Max von Ehrlich (University of Bern, Switzerland), Daniel Waldenström (Paris School of Economics, France), Jing Xing (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China), Gabriel Zucman (University of California, Berkeley, US)

CHAIR OF LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Motohiro Sato (Hitotsubashi University, Japan)

LOCAL ORGANIZING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Takero Doi (Keio University, Japan), Yasushi Iwamoto (University of Tokyo, Japan), Katsuyoshi Nakazawa (Toyo University, Japan), Takehiko Ikegami (Rikkyo University, Japan), Nobuki Mochida (University of Tokyo, Japan)